Begin Book Club Updates

avatar
Simon MacDonald
February 15, 2022

stacked books Photo by Chris Lawton on Unsplash

We had a great time at our first book club meeting with Alex DeBrie. Initially, we thought we’d run polls to determine what books we’d read next. However, we heard that you wanted more time to read the books, so we are happy to announce our following three book club selections and meet-up times.

The Coding Career Handbook by Shawn Wang

Wednesday, March 9th at 10 am PST, 1 pm EST, 7 pm CET

Join the author, Shawn (Swyx) Wang, as we chat about his book, The Coding Career Handbook. You’ll learn principles, strategies, and actionable tactics that will help you become a hireable junior developer or go from a junior to a senior developer.

The Coding Career Handbook cover

The JAMstack Book by Raymond Camden and Brian Rinaldi

Wednesday, May 11th at 10:30 am PST, 1:30 pm EST, 7:30 pm CET

Two authors, is that even legal? I guess we’ll find out when Ray Camden and Brian Rinaldi join us to talk about The JAMstack Book. It might seem like a weird choice for a company that promotes server-side rendering to talk about a book that encourages static site generation, but we believe in the right tool for the right job. Ray and Brian are experts in this field and will help you identify when to use each.

The JAMstack Book cover

Modern Software Engineering by Dave Farley

Wednesday, June 8th at 10:30 am PST, 1:30 pm EST, 7:30 pm CET

We’ll host continuous delivery pioneer Dave Farley to chat about his new book Modern Software Engineering in June. There is a lot of wisdom in this 224 page book. Buy it, read it, live it and join us to discuss how to build software with Dave.

Modern Software Engineering cover

How to participate

  1. Pick up a copy of the book(s).
  2. Read the book. Jot down any questions you have or memorable quotes.
  3. Join the Architect Discord, where we will be hosting the book club video chat.
  4. Click on the Events tab and get a reminder for the upcoming book club meetings.
  5. Follow the @begin Twitter account, where we will send out polls for future book club selections.

Join the book club newsletter

We promise that we will only use this mailing list for book club purposes like meet-up reminders and book club selections. We do not sell your personal data.

Subscribe

* indicates required

Questions?

Reach out to us on Twitter!